Apple, McDonalds and and Netflix all do this

I’ve been thinking a lot about branding lately.

More specifically, what is it that makes the worlds best brands stand head and shoulders above the rest.

Because when I think of some of the most iconic brands in the world:

  • Apple

  • Netflix

  • McDonalds

They don’t align with the branding advice I see most people give on Twitter: to offer a transformation.

And indeed, I’ve been guilty in the past of advising people just to focus on the transformation they’re offering as a way to make their brand stand out.

But I’m reconsidering that now.

Because think about it.

When you gleefully rip the plastic off the new iPhone 15 Pro Max that just arrived in the post, you don’t give a shit about a transformation.

And when you stick on a Netflix show on a quiet Sunday afternoon while it’s raining outside, you don’t give a shit about a transformation.

And when you stepped foot in McDonald’s as a kid, filled with excitement about the chicken nugs you were about to devour, you didn’t give a shit about a transformation.

None of this is about logic.

None of this is about a transformation or the person you want to become.

It’s about a feeling.

It’s about being in the moment.

It’s about an EXPERIENCE.

And when I think about the things people most often compliment me on regarding my brand:

My dry sense of humour and (more than) occasional expletive.

My ability to bring simplicity to an overly complicated marketing world.

The sense of flow they get when they read the words written by a guy with 5+ years of programming experience specifically designed to get into this state.

None of their compliments are about the transformation or the results I’m delivering (even though they are - one of my clients just hit 1.5k followers in 3 weeks of us working together…)

What they actually compliment me on is the sensation and the flow they experience as they read the words I write.

I’m not saying results don’t matter - they absolutely do.

The outcomes, transformation and benefits you offer people play a huge role in whether someone buys into your brand and wants to work with you.

I’m just saying that the bigger reason, the REAL reason why someone buys into your brand and decides to work with you is that you offer an experience that simply can’t be matched anywhere else.

Apple don’t sell phones.

They sell a SENSATION in your hands.

Netflix don’t sell movies.

They sell COMFORT.

McDonalds don’t sell fast food.

They sell HAPPY meals for fuck’s sake.

It’s time we started thinking not just about the transformation our brand offers, but also about the experience it brings while doing so, I think.

That’s all from me today guys.

Talk soon,

Harry

PS. If you want help creating a brand that stands head and shoulders above the rest then reply to this email with “Fifteen”. We’ll book a FREE 15 minute call and figure out exactly how to turn your brand into something people can’t forget.